Alabama Car Accident Attorneys
Auto Accident Claims in Alabama
If you or someone you love was recently involved in an automobile accident, and you believe someone else was at fault, you could be entitled to compensation.
By filing an auto accident claim against the at-fault person’s insurance provider, you can receive monetary recovery for your losses, including:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Vehicle repair costs
- And pain and suffering
At Morris Haynes Attorneys at Law, our Alabama car accident lawyers understand just how challenging it can be to get back on your feet after a serious crash. We believe that negligent and careless motorists should be held accountable, and our auto accident attorneys are prepared to fight for the maximum recovery you deserve. With over 30 years of experience and more than $1 billion recovered for our clients, we are well-versed in all types of auto accident claims.
Learn how our Alabama car accident attorneys at Morris Haynes Attorneys at Law can help you after your car wreck. Call (205) 973-6915 or contact us online for a free consultation at our Alexander City or Birmingham offices. Hablamos español.
Is Alabama a No-Fault State?
No, Alabama is not a no-fault insurance state. While some states follow a no-fault car insurance system, Alabama is not one of them. In some states, accident victims can recover compensation via their own auto insurance policies after a crash, regardless of fault. Instead, Alabama follows a traditional fault-based (or “tort”) system when it comes to auto insurance and car accidents.
This means that most people who are involved in car accidents in Alabama must file claims against the at-fault driver’s auto insurance company to be compensated for their losses. This, in turn, involves proving that the other person was, in fact, at fault for the collision.
If the other motorist does not have auto insurance, or if they flee the scene of the accident, victims may be able to collect compensation from their own insurance providers if they have elected to have uninsured motorist (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage on their policies.
How to Prove Fault in Your Car Accident
Because Alabama follows a fault-based system when it comes to car accidents and insurance claims, it is important that you prove the other party’s fault after a collision. Typically, this involves looking into the cause of the crash and establishing that the collision would most likely not have occurred had the other person or party not acted negligently.
What Are the Most Common Causes of Car Accidents?
Some common causes of car accidents that can be attributed to negligence include:
- Distracted driving, including texting while driving
- Speeding, including driving too fast for current conditions
- Aggressive or reckless driving and road rage
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Making unsafe or unlawful turns
- Failing to yield the right of way
- Running red lights, stop signs, and other traffic control devices
- Merging or passing unsafely or illegally
- Driving while fatigued/falling asleep at the wheel
Accidents may also be caused by third-party factors, such as:
- Defective vehicles
- Vehicle parts
- Or roadways
In some instances, it may be appropriate to file a product liability claim against a liable manufacturer in addition to or in place of a standard car accident claim.
What Is Contributory Negligence in Alabama?
Alabama is one of the few states to follow a contributory negligence rule. Under this rule, an injured motorist cannot recover any compensation if they are found to have any degree of fault in causing the accident.
In other words, if the insurance adjuster or court finds you even one percent to blame for the crash, you cannot file a personal injury claim and will not be able to recover anything for your damages. Because of this strict rule, it is extremely important that you work with an experienced and knowledgeable Alabama car accident attorney.
Insurance companies often try to deny claims on the basis of contributory negligence. Our Alabama car accident lawyers know how to fight back against unfair insurance adjuster tactics, including attempts to unjustly assign you blame. We are here to stand up for you and protect your right to a fair recovery.
Types of Claims Our Alabama Car Accident Attorneys Handle
At Morris Haynes Attorneys at Law, we assist individuals who have been involved in all types of automobile accidents, including but not limited to those involving:
- Multiple vehicles
- Large trucks and commercial vehicles
- Pedestrians or bicyclists
- Rear-end collisions
- Head-on collisions
- Side-impact (T-bone) collisions
- Intersection accidents
- Highway accidents
- Collisions in construction/work zones
- Vehicle rollovers
- Auto defects
- Catastrophic bodily injury
Regardless of the severity of the crash or the extent of your injuries and damages, our team is here to help you fight for the justice you deserve. We handle all car accident claims on a contingency fee basis, meaning you do not owe any legal fees unless we recover compensation for you.
Put Over 250 Years of Combined Experience on Your Side Today
Morris Haynes Attorneys at Law is known for our aggressive approach to litigation, as well as our commitment to our clients. To date, we have recovered more than $1 billion in compensation, including numerous million- and multimillion-dollar settlements and verdicts. Our Alabama auto accident attorneys are here to provide you with compassionate, personalized legal representation and aggressive advocacy throughout the legal process.
Give our Alabama car accident attorneys a call at (205) 973-6915 or submit a free online case evaluation form today to schedule your free consultation!
How long do you have to file a police report after a car accident in Alabama?
Alabama law requires you to report any auto accident that results in bodily injury, death, or property damage in excess of $500 to the authorities. You should call 911 right away if anyone was hurt or killed and have them come out to the scene of the accident. When filing an official crash report (SR-31) with the Department of Public Safety, you have 30 days from the date of the accident to do so.
How long do you have to file a car accident lawsuit in Alabama?
You have two years from the date of the accident (in most cases) to file a car accident lawsuit in Alabama. If you fail to sue the liable party within the two-year statute of limitations, you will almost certainly lose your right to recover compensation.
Can I file a car accident claim if I was partly at fault?
In Alabama, you may not file a claim if you are found to be partly at fault for the accident. The state’s contributory negligence rule bars individuals from recovering compensation if they are even one percent to blame. Because of this, it is very important that you work with an experienced attorney who can help prove that the other party was entirely at fault for the accident that caused your injuries.
Why should I hire a car accident lawyer?
Alabama car accident laws are relatively strict, and insurance adjusters will often do everything they can to avoid paying out the full value of your claim. An experienced attorney, like those at Morris Haynes Attorneys at Law, can help you protect your rights and seek the maximum compensation you are owed. Our team knows how to gather available evidence and develop an innovative legal strategy tailored to your unique situation. We are aggressive when it comes to seeking fair compensation for our clients, and we have the resources required to represent you at trial.