Is Alabama an At-Fault State?
Across the nation, each state operates differently than the next concerning how they handle cases following an auto accident. In Alabama, the law follows a fault system. This system gives victims of car accidents the ability to hold negligent parties accountable for injuries and damages they suffer.
Recognizing how the law works for you is crucial. You should know how to safeguard your rights, but more importantly, understand why it’s so vital to have a lawyer on your side throughout the process. Below, we will explain the following so that you know what to expect:
- Your options under fault law
- Auto insurance in Alabama
- When the other driver doesn’t have insurance
- Why it’s crucial to hire a lawyer
Call us at (205) 973-6915 to discuss your rights after a car accident in Alabama.
Your Options Under Fault Law
After a crash, you should be sure to request the other driver’s insurance provider’s information. Because you can file a claim against the at-fault party’s insurance, you need to have this information so that you may provide it to your legal team. The law makes it so the person who is responsible for causing the accident is financially accountable for compensation.
How Can I Pursue Compensation in a Fault State?
If you are in a crash and suffer injuries, here’s how you can pursue compensation:
- Through your own insurance provider, depending on the coverage you have.
- Through the other driver’s insurance company.
- Through a personal injury lawsuit directly against the at-fault driver.
It helps to speak with a lawyer before you move forward. A lawyer can explain which option works best for you and how to maximize the compensation you may be able to recover.
Auto Insurance In Alabama
In the state of Alabama, the law requires all drivers to carry a minimum liability coverage when operating a vehicle. This insurance coverage must meet specific requirements. Here are the limits associated with liability insurance in the state:
- $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability
- $25,000 per accident in property damage liability
Keep in mind: these are minimum policy limits. Car accident cases often involve injuries and damages that go beyond these amounts, so it’s usually best for drivers to increase their policy. If the other driver has only the minimum coverage, you may pursue additional action to maximize your compensation.
When the Other Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance
Despite the laws in place, not everyone maintains insurance. Many insurance companies offer uninsured motorist coverage for situations just like this. Essentially, this coverage allows you to still obtain compensation if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance. Instead, you’d go through your own provider to obtain compensation for your injuries.
If you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage, it’s something you should speak with your provider about. It could be very helpful in the event of a severe crash.
Do I Need a Lawyer After a Car Crash in Alabama?
Insurance companies have a known history of putting profits over people. Instead of willingly paying out compensation after a car accident, many insurance adjusters will use tactics that minimize how much you might recover. They may even deny your claim in some cases if it threatens the amount of money they have to pay in compensation.
A lawyer helps you recognize these tactics and combat them in the most thorough way possible. A lawyer can utilize evidence to hold negligent parties accountable when it matters most, guiding you through the challenging legal process while you focus on your recovery.
At Morris Haynes Attorneys at Law, we prioritize you and your best interests. Our Alabama car accident attorneys know how insurance companies work, and we take on the challenge with full force. When you need tenacious and compassionate legal representation to safeguard your rights, you can count on our team to stand in your corner.
Call our firm today at (205) 973-6915, and schedule your free consultation.